Saturday, November 21, 2009

Christianity, Conservatism, and the Constitution

Well haven't written in awhile...I've just been busy. I went to the OKC Tea Party this month with Heather Hilton and Sharon Brown. It was so uplifting. Every person who spoke invoked the name of Jesus Christ. Contrary to the lame-stream media there were no angry mobs...no careless litterers...no hatred...just common sense comments and questions about what is going on in this country.
I've also been studying the founding of our country so that I can more accurately represent the truth. I'm using what I learn to teach a ladies class at church about the civic responsibilities of Christians. We have been silent for far too long. This is the time for us to stand up and be heard. How do we do that? We pray (2 Chron 7:14), we write to our Senators and Representatives (often), and we vote (for people whose beliefs reflect our own). This isn't about Democrat or Republican. This is about Conservatism. This is about protecting the country that our founding fathers (and mothers) created.
Okay...so...this country was founded by men who invoked the name of Jesus. If you don't agree, go do your homework. They assumed that everyone embraced the idea that this country was mostly of the Christian faith. They did however recognize that people need the freedom to practice their religion without persecution. Some of you may be screaming "separation of church and state"! Well let me educate you. That phrase is NOT in the Constitution. It was a phrase used by Thomas Jefferson in 1802 in a letter he wrote in response to a concern from a Baptist group in Connecticut. And in context, he used the phrase to reassure that group that the government had no right to interfere in the church.
In the last 40 or 50 years that phrase has been quoted as a constitutional truth and used to oppress expressions of Christianity. But, listen, the Bill of Rights was added to the Constitution in 1791 to protect the people from their government. We have a social contract form of government in America...that is...we give up a certain amount of liberty to allow our government to operate (although Benjamin Franklin would say that people who give up liberty for security deserve neither). The government works for us. I think we have all forgotten that.
90%+ of Americans associate themselves with the Christian religion, so that means we've been letting the less than 10% call the shots. The proverbial "tail wagging the dog" syndrome.
This health care bill is about to get rammed down our throats, and if you don't think it will be the straw that breaks our financial back, you haven't been doing your homework. I have written to Nancy Pelosi three times, with no response of course, about my opinion about this bill. And my final thought was this: Abortion is NOT health care. If a woman thinks that's her only option, that's between her and her God, but I don't want my tax dollars used for that purpose. She should pay for it herself.
Christians...it is time to rise up and fight for right. The First Amendment says you have the right to freely exercise your faith. There is no provision that says the government has the right to shut you up.
There is nothing in the Constitution that protects any of us from "being offended". It seems like the only thing that "offends" people in this country is Christianity. Here's a question, "why aren't those haters OFFENDED that a Muslim extremist terrorist MURDERED 13 American soldiers and wounded 31 more?" Thankfully, the American military will try him, and he will most likely be executed. I wonder if his lawyer is a card-carrying member of the ACLU?
Remember, Jesus said that the Gospel is offensive to those who are perishing...that's probably why we are the only religious group under attack. December 25th has been set aside by OUR GOVERNMENT to celebrate Christmas, which is a celebration of the birth of Christ. (Christmas was declared a national holiday by Ulysses S. Grant in 1870.) No one forces unbelievers to celebrate that holiday (it's a free country remember?). But, we DO have the right to say Merry CHRISTmas if we want to. If you don't like it, don't listen. If you're offended, sorry. But I'm offended by profanity, ignorance, hatred, racism, sexism, and stupidity, but I don't go find the nearest mike at MSNBC and whine that legislation must be passed to stop those things.
Yes, I am a follower of Jesus Christ, and I'm not ashamed of His Gospel.

Friday, October 2, 2009

Nope...no Olympics for Obama

awwww...the mayor of Chicago...I mean...the President and his wife and oprah weren't successful in getting the olympics for chicago. (sniff sniff) i'm so thrilled that we sent 2 taxpayer-paid jets across the ocean for that little boondoggle.

Wednesday, September 30, 2009

The Olympics??? Are you kidding me???

Is Barak Obama the President of the United States or is he the mayor of Chicago? I forget.
Let's see...General McChrystal is in desperate need of troops to continue the current mission in Afghanistan, and he explained that in a letter to the President. He hasn't actually met with the President in over two months. I'm no expert, but I have been a soldier...and if I was already serving in Afghanistan and understood the urgency of the request, I would feel a little slighted that my Commander-in-Chief just doesn't have the time to meet with the Mission Commander to discuss options. But, oh, I guess it's okay...the President is too busy going to Denmark to vie for the 2016 Olympics to worry about the life and death situation in Afghanistan. Not to mention the fact that he and his wife took TWO separate jets across the Atlantic Ocean on the taxpayer's dime. Chicago? Chicago? Chicago? Hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm. Interesting.
Can we just return to the reason we are in Afghanistan to begin with? I think it began with the reality of 4 jets being hijacked by Muslim extremists who hate America, and then crashing those jets in order to maximize the death toll. I am so tired of hearing that President Bush was behind that horrible day. THAT IS ONE OF THE MOST RIDICULOUS THINGS BEING SAID IN OUR COUNTRY TODAY. I don't care if you hate Bush...that's your perrogative. It's a free country, and we're free to express our opinions...no matter how idiotic they may be (and that goes for people of any party)...but I digress. Osama bin Laden hates our country...he hates our ideals...he hates capitalism (yeah right...he's one of the richest men in the world...don't kid yourself)...and he hates us...yeah me AND you. We went to Afghanistan to get him and his cronies, but we've lost our way. So here's what I think...(and yes, I know, my opinion and 75 cents can get you a cup of coffee at McDonalds)...either fish or cut bait. If we're not going to send more troops SOON as the General requested, then BRING THEM HOME PLEASE!
How could ANY U.S. President scurry off to talk about the Olympics when we have so much going on? THE OLYMPICS!!!??? Good night! Iran is harping about wiping Israel off the face of the map...and test- firing long-range missiles...and hiding their nuclear testing facilities. Our Afghanistan-mission is about to implode. And we're worried about the Olympics 7 years from now!!!! Is there no one else who could have maybe taken care of that? Like, I don't know...the MAYOR OF CHICAGO maybe? I'm sorry...I don't get it. You don't have to have a whole lot of common sense to see that that decision didn't involve any common sense at all.
I don't know much YET about this Valerie Jarrett who works for the President, but I'm on a mission to understand who she is, and how much influence she has. There's a story there...oh yes...and it's a good one (well maybe "good" isn't the appropriate word...but there's a story for sure.)
and last, but not least, this reminder: Mr. President and Congress...have you forgotten that "you're not the boss of us" ? Hello...there's this little document called the Constitution which starts off with the greatest three little words..."We the People"...yes, that's right...we're the boss of you! How about you start listening to us? Clean up the corruption. Stop with the special interest groups. Stop pandering to lobbyists. Stop attaching ridiculous hidden riders to bills. Stop bailing out every corporation that comes bawling for more money. I am sick of the lot of you. Will any of you stand up and say "ENOUGH!" ?

Saturday, September 26, 2009

Weary

I was watching Fox News tonight, and they were airing the President's speech to the Phoenix Organization...an organization that honors the achievements of black americans. I watched for awhile. It's an achievement for anyone to become president of this great country...and I agree...it's especially historic for a black american to become president. But...it didn't take long before the blame game began. Every problem in this country is President Bush's fault. Yes...he didn't do a lot of things well...but Obama's been president long enough to make mistakes (he's human) and to own those mistakes. and just like Bush, he won't do it. I am so sick of the whole lot of them. I think they really believe that we believe everything that comes out of their mouth. They are all so self-aggrandizing I just can't stand it. It would be hilarious if it wasn't so serious! (Washington and Hollywood...they really think we hold them in high esteem...ha!) The old saying is certainly true: "how do you know when a politician is lying?".....His/her lips are moving.
And speaking of Hollywood...I sat down last Sunday night to watch the Emmy's...and the only reason I did so was become Mia Michaels (i thought) was nominated for an emmy for choreography (i never did see that award mentioned so i don't know what the deal was) but i have to say that it was a complete waste of my time. Oh how they love themselves. Where are the awards shows for people who REALLY achieve something and make a difference in this country? I vow from this day forward I will never watch the Grammys, the Oscars, or the Emmys again. Give me a show that honors volunteers, firemen, police officers, teachers, and other public servants and I'll watch. The people in Hollywood can all go over to Sean Penn's house (or Charley Sheen's) and talk about how great they are. I'm fairly certain that most people really don't care...about their awards or their political opinions.

Thursday, September 24, 2009

Incredible

Ok so there's this elementary school in the news today. I don't care who you are ... this story is creepy. These kindergarten children were in a group learning how to sing a song praising Barack Hussein Obama. (I'll try to post it on my facebook page.) They kept chanting his name over and over and lauding his alleged accomplishments. Oh my word...can you imagine the outrage from the left if a school had forced children to sing the praises of President Bush? Thinking about it makes me laugh out loud! The Supreme Court won't let us teach kids about Jesus and how he loves everyone, but we can require them to sing a song about a U.S. president that includes the lyrics "red yellow black and white...they are precious in his sight"? Yeah...creepy.
Look...I don't think schools have the right to lean to the left or to the right. Children are a captive audience, and are easily influenced. They believe everything we teach them. As educators we have a responsibility to NOT let our political convictions color the way we present history or current events.
I'm serious...go watch the video. When I watched it I was reminded of Iran in the days of the Ayatollah Khomeini, Iraq under Saddam Hussein, and North Korea today. If I had kids in that school they would be going somewhere else tomorrow.

Wednesday, September 23, 2009

lil upset

Okay so most of you know that I have become a Glenn Beck fan! He's funny, he's smart, and pretty darn cute. But he made me upset today with his demonstration. I emailed him and let him know about it too! LOL
Other than that...I'm too tired to talk about politics or to be opinionated. Maybe tomorrow.
Oh wait a minute...I will say one thing...I "think" the Prez threw Israel under the bus today at the U.N. And he has also joined Prez Bush in the "just can't commit to getting tough on Iran" club. Jeez Louise...how about that new world order? Um....not buying it. Sorry.
Oh and the world must be coming to an end because BARNEY FRANK actually thinks ACORN should be investigated! Incredible! I can't believe I'm going to say this, but I agree with Barney on something. Wow. I'm stunned.
Good night. God bless.

Tuesday, September 22, 2009

Random Thoughts

Today a friend told me that he thought I was being the two-year old. I didn't mean to be, and I apologized for what he "thought" that I did. I truly don't want to be a political being that has no regard for the opinions of my political opponents. I am opinionated, but I realize that doesn't necessarily mean that I'm always right. What I hope I will always keep in mind is that "discussing" or "arguing" politics with friends or family is never as important as the relationships themselves.

Monday, September 21, 2009

Who Am I?

I am a Christian. I am a high school history teacher in a very small town in Oklahoma. I am a conservative Republican. I love America and I am concerned about the direction our country is taking. I am not anyone special, and I certainly don't claim to be an expert on any political issue being considered in Washington, D.C. However, I do expect my elected officials to do the job they were elected to do...and that is to represent their constituents. "I" am not a moron as those in D.C. obviously believe that "I" am. I am beginning to understand our president's connections with SIEU, ACORN, the APOLLO foundaton. I can connect the dots. I can understand when our president says ACORN is going to help him set up the agenda for his presidency, and then when he says that he didn't know that ACORN received federal funds! GIVE ME A BREAK PRESIDENT OBAMA! The American people are not as gullible as you had hoped they'd be.
And what about Van Jones? No one wants to talk about him, but he has never kept secret his own personal convictions and agenda! America...wake up! During the 2008 campaign, President Obama said that we can get to know him by looking at the people with whom he surrounds himself. Well, Mr. Obama, I'm looking, and I'm not liking what I'm seeing. In fact, it scares me to think that a self-avowed communist, Marxist revolutionary has your ear. Oh I know...he resigned...but don't think for one moment that I believe he isn't still influencing your decisions.
And what about ACORN? Are there no liberals or "mainstream" news organizations (oops...I just used a redundancy in that sentence) who have a problem with underage illegals being smuggled into our country to be prostitutes? And not only that, but having it done with taxpayer dollars?! Come on!
I take very seriously the first three words of our Constitution...."We the People". The people are supposed to be the driving force of this country...it's what has set us apart over the last 220 years...but in the last few years (and not just during President Obama's administration, to be fair) the politicians have displayed the attitude that "we the people" must answer to them...that they are to feared by us and not the other way around. Hey...they owe us answers. They owe us some straight talk. I am so tired of double-talk and rhetoric. I am tired of liberals who try to bully us into submission.
Have you ever tried to argue with a liberal? They get mad and act like two-year olds who don't get their way (and when they don't have anything valid to say, they bumble around and start blaming Bush). It's impossible to make a valid point with them. I've got to say that I'm looking forward to reading Glen Beck's new book "Arguing with Idiots" so that I can be prepared to have a conversation with those who actually believe that socialism isn't such a bad thing...with those who actually believe that Hugo Chavez led a nice little revolution in Venezuela! Oh? Would that be the same Hugo Chavez that has very recently shut down independent media outlets in his country? People...wake up! If the liberals have their way, that is exactly what will happen here! It will happen slowly...while we're asleep...and one day we'll wake up and think we've been transported to Cuba or the Soviet Union...and then it will be too late. Ask yourself this question: why are liberals so enamored with the lifestyles in those types of countries? Surely they must understand the harsh realities of living in a country where even their liberal ideas will no longer be heard. The only voice that is heard in those places is the voice of the government. Government-ran newspapers...broadcast news...libraries...and so on and so on. The militaries in those countries are not servants of the population, but of the government. Hey...Fidel Castro was very popular AT FIRST! Not so now...but by the time the Cubans figured it out...it was too late. It is so important that we understand these basic truths.
America is not perfect. I know that. I'm not a blind patriot. But I also know that socialism and communism are not the answers to our problems. If we don't get involved and start demanding answers and accountability from Washington then we will get what we deserve, and that is NO POLITICAL VOICE AT ALL.